The site which now bears the name Cathedral Park is steeped in history. It is believed to be one of the 14 Lewis and Clark landing sites in the Vancouver-Portland area: William Clark and eight men stayed there on April 2, 1806. This spot had been a fishing and seasonal living site for many area Native American tribes. In 1847, the founder of St Johns, James John, settled on the site and operated a ferry to Linnton across the Willamette River. In 1931, the St Johns Bridge was built on the site with 400-ft towers and a main span of 1,207 feet. It is the only steel suspension bridge in Portland. Dedicated in 1980, the park gets its name from a photo of the St Johns Bridge by Al Monner that appeared on the front page of the Oregon Journal in 1968. Reference was made to its beautiful cathedral-like arches and the park found its name. Cathedral Park includes a boat ramp & canoe launch, a dog off-leash area, paved paths, picnic tables, a stage, and areas along the river to fish. The park is a trailhead for the 40-Mile Loop Trail.